Alabama State House



The State House was opened in 1963 as the Alabama Highway Department Building. It housed the Alabama Department of Transportation, then known as the Alabama State Highway Department, until 1985, when the Alabama Legislature moved into the upper floors while the Alabama State Capitol building was being renovated. Article IV, Section 48 of the Alabama Constitution requires the Legislature to meet in the Capitol, but Amendment 427 was passed to enable it to select another place to temporarily meet until renovations at the Capitol were complete. Although all major renovations were completed there in 1992, the Legislature has remained at the State House. The building was renamed after the 1985 move. Originally, the Legislature occupied the 5th through 7th floors. When

the Legislature outgrew this space, an eighth floor was added.

The State House has seven above ground floors and one at basement level. The first floor, located at basement level, is used for miscellaneous offices and committee rooms. The second floor contains the Governor's Legislative Office and the Alabama Budget Office. The third floor houses the Attorney General. The fifth and sixth floors are dedicated exclusively to the use of the House of Representatives. The seventh and eighth floors are likewise used by the Senate. Additionally, the Lieutenant Governor's offices are located on the seventh floor.

Here is a list of the tenants in the State House that we provide office spaces for:

- Alabama State Senate
- Secretary of the Senate & Senate Staff
- Senate Gallery
- Senate Committee Meeting Rooms
- Lt. Governor
- President Pro Tempore of the Senate
- House of Representatives
- Clerk of the House & House Staff
- House Gallery
- House Committee Meeting Rooms
- Speaker of the House
- Legislative Reference Service
- Legislative Fiscal Office
- Legislative Reapportionment Office
- Joint Briefing Room
- Governor's Legislative Office
- State Budget Office